Skip to content

Battle of the Books (BOB) 2021-2022

Battle of the Books is a reading incentive program designed to encourage students to read quality literature.

3rd & 4th Grade:

Title Author
The Sword in the Tree Clyde Robert Bulla
Dandelions Eve Bunting
The Enormous Egg Oliver Butterworth
Henry Huggins Beverly Cleary
Jake Drake, Bully Buster Andrew Clements
Honus and Me: A Baseball Card Adventure Dan Gutman
Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery Deborah & James Howe
Invisible Inkling Emily Jenkins
Orphan Train Girl (young readers edition) Christina Baker Kline
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler E.L. Konigsburg
Rabbit Hill Robert Lawson
Judy Moody Gets Famous! Megan McDonald
The Superlative A. Lincoln Eileen R. Meyer
Dinosaurs Before Dark Mary Pope Osborne
My Rotten Redheaded Older Brother Patricia Polacco
May B Caroline Starr Rose
How Ben Franklin Stole the Lightning Rosalyn Schanzer
The Cricket in Times Square George Selden
Stuart Little E. B. White
Christopher Mouse: The Tale of a Small Traveler William Wise

5th & 6th Grades:

Title Author
Crenshaw Katherine Applegate
The Secret School Avi
A Nest for Celeste: a Story About Art Inspiration and the Meaning of Home Henry Cole
The Tale of Despereaux Kate DiCamillo
Tuesdays at the Castle Jessica Day George
Running Out of Time Margaret Haddix
Midnight Rider Joan Hiatt Harlow
Roller Girl Victoria Jamieson
When You Trap a Tiger Tae Keller
Slacker Gordon Korman
Chronicles of Narnia: Lion, Witch, & the Wardrobe C.S. Lewis
Wild Wings Gill Lewis
Shiloh Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
The Kite Fighters Park, Linda
Sideways Stories from Wayside School Louis Sachar
Frozen Stiff Sherry Shahan
The Mysterious Benedict Society Trenton Stewart
The Trouble with Tuck Theodore Taylor
A Crooked Kind of Perfect Urban, Linda
Bridge Home Padma Venkatraman